19 Sep 2017

2017 Round 5 – SMSP

Latest News, Race Reports Comments Off

CAMS 2017 NSW Motor Race Championship

SuperSports Round 5

Sydney Motor Sport Park:  September 16-17


The penultimate Supersports State round was held at a sunny Sydney Motorsport Park in true spring weather. The cars looked great under the morning sun as they came out to qualify. The seventeen strong field was varied in machinery and class. Class 1 consisted of a number of Radicals and a lone PRB S6. Class 2 was the domain of Darren Barlow’s beautiful slick Stohr. Class 3 had another very attractive car, the Chiron of Alex Kenny. On top of this a gaggle of PRB made up the rest of the field.

It was noticeable that Kenny in the Chiron and Barlow in the Stohr had an edge in speed over the rest of the field.  Barlow qualified fastest with a time of 1:28.5217 and beside him on the front row was Kenny. The second row consisted of Chris Perini in a Radical and John Beck. The third row was filled by Rowan Ross and Chris Sutton. The fastest PRB was Malcolm Lee in his light Blue Clubman S3.

 Race 1 started on Saturday afternoon and both Barlow and Kenny got away to a good start. The field was surprisingly spread out as the cars arrived at turn 2 for the first time with small battles and pairings forming early. By the second lap Kenny had the lead from Barlow and then a massive gap to Perini who in turn was dicing with Sutton, at that stage Lee was the leading PRB car positioned mid-pack.

Barlow was trying hard to hang on to the back of Kenny car, however Kenny was slowly edging out in front. In the middle of the pack Lee, John Moyes and Paul Braico where putting on a great show with cars overtaking each other numerous times coinciding with some late braking manoeuvres. During lap 5 Sutton retired while in a comfortable 5th position. In the end Kenny won a solid 4 seconds from Barlow. Perini finished home in 3rd while Peter Hill came home 4th. Moyes was the first PRB home in 9th position.

Race 2 started Sunday morning and it was a near replica to the first race start, the main difference is that Joshua Verluis had a small spin in the middle of turn 2, he eventually got going but lost plenty of time. As the cars crossed the line for the start of the second lap the order was Kenny closely followed by Barlow, Perini & Hills. This time Barlow seemed to put more pressure on Kenny and was able to shadow the leader for the initial laps. Perini, Ross and Hills formed a healthy dice for the final podium position while Lee, Moyes and Chris Barry continued their battle.

During lap 7 Barlow inherited the lead due to the sudden retirement of Kenny, now Barlow was comfortably in front of Hills, Perini and Ross. Just behind them Stephen Champion and John Beck where having their own private dice. Barlow finished the race with no opposition, he was a massive 36 seconds ahead of 2nd place finisher Hill. Ross finished 3rd while Beck came home 4th. Moyes came out on top of the PRB finishing ahead of a recovering Versluis.


Race 3 was supposed to be a walk in the park for Barlow, starting at the front with his main rival (Kenny) starting at the rear, but it was not to be. Kenny launched at the start and found himself in 1st position by turn 4, an amazing feat in any form of motorsport. A surprised Barlow chased on and two leaders subsequently increased their gap to the 3rd place car of Hills. The unfortunate Perini retired during lap 2 with his car rolling to a halt at turn 5.

Lee and Moyes continued their weekend battle for the honours for the PRB class while Greg Kenny and Paul Braico also were dicing for positions. On the last lap Barlow tried a move on the outside of turn 2, culminating with him having a small spin securing the race win for Kenny. Barlow finished 16 seconds in arrears while Hills was another 17 seconds adrift. Lee won the PRB battle finishing the race in  8th position.



Race 1

1    22  REGULATOR SYSTEMS          Alexander Kenny (NSW)        Chiron LMP3       Class 3        

2     1   GWR                                          Darren Barlow (NSW)            Stohr WF1           Class 2 

3    81  GWR                                          Chris Perini (NSW)                 SR3RSX             Class 1          


Race 2

1     1   GWR                                                     Darren Barlow (NSW)      Stohr WF1               Class 2

2    99  RA Motorsports / Poseidon Tech        Peter Hills (NSW)               SR8                          Class 1               

3    88  Radical Australia                                 Rowan Ross (NSW)           Radical / SR3RS     Class 1   


Race 3

1    22  REGULATOR SYSTEMS                      Alexander Kenny (NSW)    Chiron LMP3           Class 3

2     1  GWR                                                       Darren Barlow (NSW)        Stohr WF1               Class 2

3    99  RA Motorsports / Poseidon Tech          Peter Hills (NSW)                SR8                         Class 1    


Comments are closed.