01 Oct 2016

2016 Round 4 – SMP

Latest News, Race Reports Comments Off

CAMS 2016 NSW Motor Race Championship

SuperSports Round 4

Sydney Motorsport Park, September 17th 2016


The final round of the Supersports NSW state championships had finally arrived. Using the full Grand Prix circuit at Sydney Motorsport Park the title aspirants would battle out in a variety of different weather conditions. Again there would be a 3 race format with qualifying all in one day and once the qualifying session had finished Neale Muston claimed pole ahead of Darren Barlow while the second row consisted of Kim Burke and Richard Kimber. Amongst the radicals and the stalls, there was also a PRB race which consisted of 7 cars plus a new car by Chris Barry. The car was a Speed Racer Sportscars, a very elegant and attractive addition to the field.
Race 1
Muston and Barlow both made a great start and were closely followed by Oliver Smith, but the early lead that Muston built up was to no avail due to a competitor being stalled on the grid. Rowan Ross was the unfortunate driver that could not get off the line causing the safety car to come out. Once the stricken car was towed away, proceedings resumed and at the restart Muston continued his charge forward. Barlow tried his best to hang on to him, but could not match the Red Radical in speed. Smith who was in third position was having a great battle with Burke eventually losing that spot to the following driver. In the PRB class John Moyes was leading, the battle between these cars was as intense as the faster radicals.
By mid race distance the leaders had spread out, however there was an intense battle mid pack between Kimber, David Crampton and Simon Meade, these three drivers would be nose to tail most of the race. As the chequered flag fell, Muston crossed the line first,
Barlow was a strong second while Burke finished a distant third, in the PRB class Moyes took the honours.

Race 2
The start of race 2 was a repeat of the first race with Muston taking an early lead, but it would not last long; during the first lap both Barlow and Burke over took Muston. Barlow made the most of the clear air in front of him and started building up a gap. Muston eventually over took Burke and started chasing Barlow slowly reducing the margin. On lap 4 Muston made a significant gain from Barlow when at turn 2 he found a gearbox full of neutrals and lost all the ground he made up. It was obvious that Muston’s car was having gearbox problems. Crampton and Kimber where putting on a great show for a distant fourth place position while James Dick got the best of Moyes in the PRB battle. At race end Barlow crossed the line first followed by Muston who just edged out Burke.
Race 3
This time it was Barlow’s turn to make a commanding start as the rest of the field followed him but could not match him with pace. His only rival for speed was Muston who unfortunately coasted into the pits to retire after only 1 lap. With no opposition Barlow built up a lead from Burke, who subsequently had a large lead on third positioned Kimber. The race settled with no major overtaking and only a retirement would alter positions. A testament to this was Oliver Smith who was in a strong position only to retire with a few laps to go. The PRB class also had their hard luck stories with a few retirements. James Dick took out the PRB trophy race finishing ninth overall.
The final race result for the meet and 2016 was Barlow first, Burke second and Kimber third. Congratulations to Darren Barlow clinching the NSW Supersports championship for 2016. He was a model for consistency and speed, a deserving champion.

The winners of the individual Classes are as follows:

Class 1-Chris Sutton
Class 2 -Darren Barlow
Class 3 – Neale Muston


Comments are closed.