19 Jun 2012

Round 2 2012 – Sydney Motorsport Park

Race Reports Comments Off

Natsoft race results:


Cars from Four continents and Four states converge at the Creek

The SuperSports category in the NSW State Championship welcomed diverse cars from four Continents and four States for the second round of the series in early June.

Wests, made in the USA and based in Adelaide, Speads from South Africa and Melbourne, Radical from the UK and NSW and Radical from Queensland merged at Sydney Motorsport Park (SMP, and previously ‘The Creek) to do battle, and battle they did, emerging with the outright lap record and some fine close racing in the interim.

This event was the first to employ the new extended circuit which veers off at the old turn six to offer a twisty and challenging set of corners until joining the old circuit prior to turn nine.


Qualifying- Saturday cool and dry

 An untested track, and early on the programme meant much interest was aroused to discover the new lap times, so Josh Hunt obliged in his Meridian Motorsport 1340cc Spead by setting the mark at 1.48.5, which is around 20 secs longer than the original track. He was closely followed by local driver Adam Proctor (1000cc Stohr), Aaron Steer (1340cc West) and Mike Shaw (1000cc Stohr). The heavier Radical 1500cc SR3 in the hands of returning driver Nick Kelly was in hot pursuit, so it augered well for diverse yet close racing for the weekend ahead.


Race One- Saturday pm, 9 laps, cool and dry

 Josh Hunt had secured pole with Adam Proctor alongside and Aaron Steer a row back, but with a spot vacant as Mike Shaw failed to make a start. The nine lap race was frantically fought out right down the field with Hunt commanding top spot throughout, posting a new outright lap record in the process, (1 min. 49.094). Proctor gave no comfort, chasing hard but unable to squeeze past the confident Hunt, and Steer keeping them honest in third spot. Mark Laucke got the better of Nick Kelly at the start to hold a consistent fourth spot through the race. Todd Phillips was the only retirement due to an engine problem that put him out for the weekend,


Race Two- Sunday am, 7 laps, overcast and damp

 Mike Shaw was able to re-join racing from the back of the field, and was ready to try to work his way through the pack. At the front Josh Hunt got his customary quick start and set off for victory, but his day was over when he had to retire with mechanical problems on lap four to allow Aaron Steer to inherit the lead from Adam Proctor. But watch out for Shaw who was working his way through in angry pursuit. By lap 6 he was in third spot but the chequered flag stopped him from making further inroads on the two leaders. Even in the colder and damper conditions Hunt still made his mark by slicing another tenth off the outright record to put him in the record books in the 1.48’s. Not to be outdone, the leading Radical driver, Andrew McPherson also posted a 2C class track record with 1.52.71 which remained unbeaten and therefore is similarly noted in the record books.


Race Three- Trophy Race,  Sunday pm, 6 laps, overcast and cool

This was the race of the weekend, with an epic battle fought out at the front between Proctor’s Stohr, Steer’s West and Shaw’s Stohr. The result was in doubt right up to the flag with a tenth of a second separating the winning margin and just three tenths separating the top three lap times. Proctor gained ascendancy from Steer from the start with Shaw chasing hard, passing Steer on lap two and setting his sights on the lead. He didn’t have long to wait, passing his team mate Proctor with a wave on lap four to hold a slender lead to victory and the top podium spot. Adelaide visitor Aaron Steer was also able to be more than satisfied on his journey home with a smooth and professional foray on the new circuit. Following closely behind, Andrew McPherson and Nick Kelly were fighting frantically to take home the Class Two winner’s accolades with McPherson crossing the line a mere second ahead, but unable to improve on his category breaking time in race two.


Opinions on the new circuit were mixed, varying from ‘It is now better than Phillip Island’ to ‘It’s too twisty and has lost the flow of the GP circuit’. But one thing we all agreed on, it’s great to get a choice and it was even greater to watch such exciting racing.


Class 1 results

1st – Micahel Shaw

2nd – Adam Proctor


Class 2 results

1st – Andrew McPherson

2nd – Nick Kelly


State Championship point score – after two rounds


Comments are closed.